Syllabus for Ph.D Entrance Examination PG Department of Political Science



Binod Bihari Mahto Koyalanchal University, Dhanbad

Members of Board of Studies

1. Chairman:

Dr. Debjani Biswas

Associate Professor. Dean, Social Science Head, University Department of Political Science Binod Bihari Mahto Koyalanchal University, Dhanbad.

2. External Expert Members:

a. Dr. Tulu Sarkar

Associate Professor University Department of Political Science Ranchi University, Ranchi.

b. Dr. Sukalyan Moitra

Lecturer, Selection Grade/ Associate Professor University Department of Political Science Vinoba Bhave University, Hazaribag

3. Members:

a. Dr. Sanju Kumari

Associate Professor University Department of Political Science Binod Bihari Mahto Koyalanchal University, Dhanbad

b. Dr. Pravin Singh (Principal R.S.More College)

Associate Professor Binod Bihari Mahto Koyalanchal University, Dhanbad

c. Dr. Amulya Suman Beck

Assistant Professor
University Department of Political Science
Binod Bihari Mahto Koyalanchal University, Dhanbad.

d. Dr. Jitendra Aryan

Assistant Professor
University Department of Political Science
Binod Bihari Mahto Koyalanchal University, Dhanbad.

e. Dr. Sumita Tiwary

Assistant Professor H.O.D. Department of Political Science S.S.L.N.T. Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Dhanbad.

102 1201 Piers 15, Ph. D. Coment of Political Science Committee Mark 1 Koyalanchal University Charbad, Jharkhand-925001

Syllabus for Ph.D Entrance Examination

Unit - 1. Elementary Political Science

State,
Sovereignty(Monism and Pluralism),
Democracy,
Liberty, Equality, Justice,
Rights.

Unit - 2. Indian Political Thought

Raja Rammohan Roy, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Mahatma Gandhi, Jai Prakash Narayan, Dr. B. R. Ambedkar.

Unit - 3. Western Political Thought

Plato,
Aristotle,
Machiavelli,
Hobbes,
Locke,
Rousseau,
Karl Marx.

Unit – 4. Western Political Theory

Behaviouralism,
Post-Behaviouralism,
Decline of Political Theory,
Revival of Political Theory,
End of Ideology and its Impact on Political Theory

Unit – 5. Indian Government and Politics

Characteristics of Indian Constitution, Making of Indian Constitution,

Preamble,

Fundamental Rights,

Directive Principles of State Policy,

President,

Loksabha,

Rajya Sabha,

Judicial Review,

Judicial Activism,

Governor.

Unit – 6. Contemporary Political Issues

Terrorism,

Globalization,

Liberalization,

North-South Dialogue : Major Issues

United Nations: Restructuring and Reforms

Concept of Human Rights: Classification and Types.

Universal Declaration of Human Rights – 1948

Unit - 7. Theories of International Relations

Realist and Idealist Theory,

Non-alignment,

Role of Regional Organization : ASEAN, SAARC, EU

Indian Foreign Policy(1991-2020)

Unit - 8. Public Administration

Definition of Public Administration,

Public and Private Administration,

New Public Administration,

Decision Making Approach,

Human Relation Approach,

Bureaucracy,

E-Governance.

<u>Unit</u> – 9. Politics of Developing Countries

Colonialism, Neo colonialism, Ethno-politics, BRICS

Unit - 10. Politics of Jharkhand

Emerging Trends in State Politics of Jharkhand
Constitutional Provisions for Tribal Development.
Socio-economic Determinants of Politics of Jharkhand
Naxalism in Jharkhand
Coalition Government in Jharkhand

<u>Unit</u> – 11. Comparative Politics

Various Approaches to the Study of Comparative Politics
Constitutionalism
Political Development
Political Modernization
Political Culture
Political Socialization

Unit - 12. Political Ideology

Communitarianism and Libertarianism Modernism and Post-Modernism Feminism Environmentalism